Posted by: benoitgirard | March 9, 2010

Optimizing CGContextDrawImage

I wanted to share my finding on optimizing CoreGraphic’ CGContextDrawImage, a performance critical part of my upcoming patch for the Core Animation drawing model.

After implementing the read back from openGL, I was expecting the bottleneck of my code to be the glReadPixels() call since we are copying from VRAM to RAM every frame, however I noticed using Shark profiling tool that I was actually spending more time in CGContextDrawImage.

After investigating further I noticed using Shark that CGContextDrawImage was invoking argb32_sample_RGBA32 where cairo’s calls where not hitting this sampling routine. After a few hours of tweaking I managed to get around the first cause of this sampling by using the monitor’s color profile instead of ‘kCGColorSpaceGenericRGB’.

The second problem less obvious. I had previously looked at the transformation matrix to make sure that no scaling was happening. The transformation matrix was translating by (tx, ty) and was scaling the Y axis by -1. I had incorrectly assumed that scaling Y by -1 would be handled as a special case ‘flip’ case instead of using scaling, however resetting the scaling to 1 resulted in a drastic performance increase. Since my rendering was now reversed I applied the transformation on my OpenGL context where scaling is very efficient.

After the tweaking the bottleneck was now glReadPixels as I had originally hypothesized. I did not grab accurate measurements of the performance difference but I would say the rendering is now at least twice as fast as it was when I was hitting the sampling routine. Once we do away with the glReadPixels step this patch will be even faster!

Responses

  1. I’m wondering, does the change to the color profile actually impact the way the colors look on screen?

  2. Thank you!!!

  3. [...] [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

