WebGL Project: Galaxy Map

I made my first small WebGL app that fetches a star catalog and displays stars within 25 parsec (80 lightyear) using WebGL+Three.JS. I also created a second view that will only show named star and will try to fetch their Wikipedia page on mouse over. I didn’t trim the catalog so be prepared to wait for 8mb of text to load :).

Try it out:

View 1: Stars within 80 light years

View 1: Stars within 80 light years

View 2: Named stars only

View 2: Named stars only

This demo is missing a lot of optimization so it shouldn’t be used for benchmarking. I also unfortunately didn’t get around to calculating and displaying the relative size of each star.

2 thoughts on “WebGL Project: Galaxy Map

  1. Cool! As I scrolled down the page I noticed a few of the stars were moving and was impressed that you took the time to make it animate, but then I realized my screen is just really dusty :)

Leave a Reply

