Improving Layer Dump Visualization

I’ve blogged before about adding a feature to visualize platforms log dumps including the layer tree. This week while working on bug 1097941 I had no idea which module the bug was coming from. I used this opportunity to improve the layer visualization features hoping that it would help me identify the bug. Here are the results (working for both desktop and mobile):

Layer Tree Visualization Demo
Layer Tree Visualization Demo – Maximize me

This tools works by parsing the output of layers.dump and layers.dump-texture (not yet landed). I reconstruct the data as DOM nodes which can quite trivially support the features of a layers tree because layers tree are designed to be mapped from CSS. From there some javascript or the browser devtools can be used to inspect the tree. In my case all I had to do was locat from which layer my bad texture data was coming from: 0xAC5F2C00.

If you want to give it a spin just copy this pastebin and paste it here and hit ‘Parse’. Note: I don’t intend to keep backwards compatibility with this format so this pastebin may break after I go through the review for the new layers.dump-texture format.

Leave a Reply

